top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen DeSouza

A Trip To Cosenza

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

I have been looking forward to the opportunity to travel around the South of Italy during my spare time and a place I have had in mind before arriving here is the local city 'Cosenza'. The city is located about a 40-minute drive from my home Terranova da Sibari and from the images I saw online of the city, I was looking forward to visiting.


I haven't seen a city since I arrived at Naples and that was only a means to get to Terranova so it was a strange feeling returning to a city after being so long away from one. Cosenza isn't as highlighted as much of a tourist hotspot compared to other cities in Italy but that only meant it wasn't flooded with tourists. It's a city with a good mixture of modern infrastructure and traditional Italian architecture. Whilst it was useful being able to get a good amount of shopping in whilst in the modern part of the city, it was the old town that I was really interested in exploring.


The old town of Cosenza is lovely! It's filled with traditional narrow streets, fantastic churches and has great hotspots for some stunning views. One particular hotspot was from the 'Castello Norman-Svevo' (the Norman castle) located for great panoramic shots of not only Cosenza but also the surrounding countryside of Calabria. After a 20 minute trek to the castle, we were not disappointed with what we saw with the full city and the Calabrian mountains in great view. The glorious weather held out as well making the scenery even more picturesque than usual.


It was fantastic to have the opportunity to explore a hidden gem of Italy. Whilst Cosenza is nowhere near as highlighted compared to cities such as Naples, Milan or even Bari, Cosenza has plenty to enjoy for a visit. Whether they be hidden gems that I have not heard of or worldwide known tourist hotspots, I look forward to exploring more fantastic places in Italy with my fellow interns.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page