top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen DeSouza

Settling Into Terranova Da Sibari

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

I am almost ready to begin my third week working in Terranova da Sibari, giving me a fortnight to become accustomed to life in the South of Italy. Plenty has happened since my arrival: I have begun a new Valentine's Day marketing project, I have come to know my other interns better, I am feeling more comfortable living in Terranova and my spoken Italian has made decent progress!


The other interns have been very welcoming and friendly to me and were my main guides into helping me settle into life around Terranova. I was amazed to see how close the more experienced interns have come to the locals of the town, even despite the language barrier and it's really encouraging to see the locals welcoming the interns as best they can. With the bonds already forged with the Terranova locals it was easier to get to know the local hotspots for social occasions, including a live music pub, the local cafes and the lovely local restaurants.


As far as my progress in adapting with the locals, the key to this will be my spoken Italian. Whilst I am fine communicating with the other interns as they speak very good English, the majority of the locals in Terranova are solely Italian speakers. I have progressed from basic counting to being able to order at a shop or restaurant and most recently whilst speaking to one of the co-founders of Alteredu I was able to tell him what I had for breakfast and I correctly understood that about his upcoming trip to Spain to teach 11 students in ICT. I did make a start in teaching myself whilst in Amsterdam and with the encouragement of the locals and the other interns, I look to continue to improve my Italian.



I feel I am getting more comfortable living here in Terranova and becoming closer with the other interns. We even have plans for trips together around other parts of Southern Italy during our free days. Whilst my working relationship with the other interns has received a good start, having the other interns as friends as well is the key to adapt anywhere on an Erasmus + internship.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page