top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen DeSouza

Being With International Colleagues

Updated: Apr 17, 2020

Being here on the Erasmus scheme has given me the chance to work with people from many different backgrounds who are also on the Erasmus scheme. I have only just moved from the library to the permanent office after two weeks at Bookingpetz and in that time, I have worked with very interesting and friendly people from a range of different countries including: France, Malta, Turkey, the Netherlands and Italy!


Whilst there are groups of Turks, Maltese and Dutch who could have formed their own groups away from the rest of us, they were very inclusive to everyone no matter the background. I was so interested to learn about their cultures and traditions from the start of my internship and now I am confident they will be good friends in the future.


Being friendly with people is one important factor but it’s also important that they are good to work with as team exercises are expected in the role. How people work in England won’t be the same as how people work in Malta, France and Italy for example so it will be interesting of their expectations and their work approach.


The interns I worked with were very on-board with my ideas as I was with theirs, in particularly the project idea for promoting the city as a hotspot for dogs giving ideas for particular locations in Amsterdam, structure and editing. The new office was on the doorstep of ‘Rembrandtpark’ and 15 minutes from ‘Vondelpark’ giving us great potential for plentiful filming projects.


One of the happiest things to obtain in life is a good work life and social life balance and perhaps the biggest key to this is the surrounding people. I am surrounded by very friendly and interesting people who have so far proven great to work with, each showing their great individual talents. I am sure with the collaboration the outcome of projects will be successful and that I can enjoy life in Amsterdam with my colleagues.


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page