top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen DeSouza

My Departure From Bookingpetz.com & Amsterdam

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

Spending just over 3 months in an international environment was certainly going to be an interesting challenge in many aspects and now after all of this time, my internship has reached its end. I always look forward to returning home for Christmas however I will miss my time here in Amsterdam very dearly.


I am happy to say that the main projects I have been a part of during my time at Bookingpetz have been completed well. Each project helped me to grow in confidence and the trust between my colleagues continued to improve the more time I spent with the company. During the last week, I along with 2 other interns were the only ones left who have been with the company since September, hence we had the most experience. It was up to us to ensure the recent interns and new incoming interns understood the working structure of Bookingpetz before we were due to leave. It's a sign of not only gaining senior experience but also gaining trust.


Perhaps what I have enjoyed most about my internship here in Amsterdam was having the chance to develop strong bonds with international colleagues, each with their own unique skills to contribute. I have met brilliant coding developers, expert photographers and brilliant article writers, all of which I have worked with as a part of different marketing strategies for Bookingpetz. It's also given me the valuable experience of working in an international environment when pursuing future careers as I am open to the idea of working abroad. The main reason I chose to do my placements under the Erasmus scheme was to have a feel of working internationally and to have it as experience.


The work with my international colleagues is something that in turn has created long-lasting friendships. Working together and learning to understand one another was in my opinion the key to having a good social life with the other interns. Going into an unknown environment with nobody to fall back upon always has its doubts and there were times in my life where I have entered into unknown environments and it hasn't always been positive, but this wasn't the case with Bookingpetz. It has been a long time since I went into a new group of any sort where every person was welcoming and friendly and the interns at Bookingpetz where exactly that.













I will miss living in this fantastic country that is the Netherlands, working on my projects and the experience of a long-term internship, but being with the other interns is what I will miss most about my time here. We worked well together and we have enjoyed a great social life with each other and so we will definitely be making a strong effort to keep in contact.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page